About us

Ainsdale Amateur Radio Club circa 1960

Ainsdale Amateur Radio Club circa 1960

The Southport & District Amateur Radio Club (SADARC) has it’s roots set way back in time and is an amalgam of several different clubs that existed in South West Lancashire, or what are now known as the administrative districts of Sefton and West Lancashire.

Having gone through a lean period, the club has emerged out of the twentieth century strongly with approximately forty members, over half of them regularly attending our monthly meetings.


We are now well established as an active club, running foundation and intermediate courses, several special event stations and numerous activities for schools and youth groups each year. In 2003 a number of members made history by running the club’s first ever maritime mobile special event station.

The interests of our members vary widely and we have specialists in everything from simple 2m phone (voice) operations, through long distance HF communications, CW (Morse code), digital modes, IRLP (Internet radio linking project utilising VoIP), space communication, direction finding (fox hunting) and outdoor operations such as Summits on the Air (SOTA) activations.

Come and meet with us

We’ve got something for everyone; from the person who is interested in becoming a Radio Amateur, to the seasoned expert. So come along and meet with us at our regular monthly meetings in Scarisbrick, on the air during our 2m net on a Monday evening (except on a club night), or at one of our special event stations. You will be made most welcome.

Catchment area

We are happy to accept members and visitors from all over the world. However, our traditional catchment area covers much of West Lancashire (Ormskirk, Burscough, Bickerstaffe, Lathom, Newburgh, Up Holland, Wrightington, Skelmersdale,Aughton, Parbold, Tarleton and Rufford), Lancashire (Chorley, Mawdesly,Croston, Bretherton and Euxton), Merseyside and Sefton (Southport, Birkdale,Ainsdale, Formby, Freshfield, Hightown, Crosby, Litherland, Bootle, Maghull, Lydiate, Aintree and Netherton).